Glittering Lights Review 1

Glittering Lights In Las Vegas, a Local’s Review

The holidays are my favorite time of year, especially in Las Vegas. There are so many things to do and you can really feel the holiday spirit all around town. While we don’t have snow, we have attractions like Glittering Lights in Las Vegas (previously known as Gift of Lights).

A few years ago was our first year our family purchased tickets for Glittering Lights since the transition from Gift of Lights and so I wanted to share my review with you, just in case you’ve considered purchasing tickets for your family.

In years past, the formerly known, “Gift of Lights” was a family tradition! It used to be held at Sunset Park, but they moved locations and rebranded the attraction.


Related Articles You Might Like


Glittering Lights: The Details

Glittering Lights Review 2

Glittering Lights is the perfect way to get into the holiday spirit with this drive-thru attraction. If you love holiday lights, drive through approximately 2.5 miles of lights, millions and millions of twinkling lights, making for a great holiday experience for family and friends.

Operating Days and Times

Dates: Nov. 9, 2023 – Jan. 7, 2024

Glittering Lights attraction typically runs from mid-November to through mid-January. Dates fluctuate every year, so head to their website to see if they are currently open.

The park opens at dusk.

*Glittering Lights closes when the last car in line drives through. If you pull up at our listed closing time and there’s still a line of cars, hop in! You can still drive through.

That means if we say we close at 9 p.m. and there is a line of cars at 9 p.m. and you happen to drive that sleigh up to the line at 9:01 or 9:05, hop in line.

Highly recommend not going during their peak days, usually the two weekends before Christmas and the week of Christmas.

Special Dates

Saturday, November 11, 2023 – Veteran Appreciation Night
Veteran Appreciation powered by Verizon. Veterans/families enter free with VIC ID (Veteran Identification Card) or DAV ID card (Disabled American Veterans ID) to celebrate Veteran’s Day at Glittering Lights.

Sunday, November 12, 2023 – PJ 5K Run

Speedway Children’s Charities – Las Vegas Chapter is hosting its annual PJ 5K Run & 1 Mile Walk Through Glittering Lights at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Sunday, November 12th.The race festivities are from 4:30pm-6pm!

Monday, November 13, 2023 – Military Monday
Military Appreciation powered by Verizon. Free entry for all active and inactive military/families with valid ID. Veterans and active duty military must present the ID at the entrance to Glittering Lights to receive free admission.

Monday, November 13, 2023 – World Kindness Day

The first 200 paid vehicles entering the lights on Monday November 13th, will receive a free ticket for future use in honor of the day of kindness. This gifted ticket has no restrictions! It can be used the same night for a second entry or passed along in kindness to a random stranger or friend in need.

Thursday, November 16, 2023  First Responders Night

Subaru of Las Vegas spreads some love to community first responders with a free night at the lights. On November 16, first responders including EMTs, firefighters, and police officers are welcome to drive through Glittering Lights free of charge. For admission, guests must show proof of service ID.

Sunday, December 31, 2023 – New Years Eve Fireworks
Enjoy an east coast countdown with Fireworks at 9pm.

Location

Glittering Lights is located at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway. But beware, DON’T use GPS – this will take you to a “no entry” zone.

Directions to Las Vegas Motor Speedway: Take I-15N – EXIT 54/SPEEDWAY BLVD – TURN RIGHT – CONTINUE FOR A HALF MILE AND TURN RIGHT INTO THE ENTRANCE OF GLITTERING LIGHTS! Using a GPS will double your travel time, routing you to the attraction’s exit with no entry at Las Vegas Blvd.

Costs: Tickets and Goodies

One ticket is needed per car, per entry (excluding buses). We highly recommend purchasing your ticket prior to arriving (there are often discounted tickets (don’t pay full price!)).

Ticket prices vary depending on the ticket type you select.

Glittering Lights Review 4

In-person ticket purchases receive $5 off by bringing a bag of gently used items to donate to Goodwill of Southern Nevada. They also offer a $2 military discount. Discounts and offers cannot be combined.

  • Anyday Tickets | $39/vehicle
    Valid during any day/time the attraction is open and operating.
  • Weekday Value Tickets | $29/vehicle
    Valid Monday through Thursday

    • Blackout Dates: Holidays, Thanksgiving, Select Dates in December and January (typically around Dec 19-Jan 1)
  • Fast Pass | $64/vehicle
    Skip the line with a fast pass ticket (limited number of slots available on select nights)
  • Season Pass | $129/vehicle
    Drive through the lights as many times as you’d like with this unlimited access pass good for two family vehicles (can enter at same time)
  • Santa Tram | $20/person Buy Your Tickets from Groupon Here
    Available on select nights, children 2 and under are free. Hosted by Silver State Schools Credit Union
  • Santa Tram VIP Family 4-Pack | $119
    Includes four hot cocoas, four kettle corn, and an ornament
  • Date Night VIP Package | $99
    Includes two hot cocoas, two kettle corn, one ornament, two light up necklaces, and a Fast Pass
  • La Bonita Discount Ticket | Available for purchase only at La Bonita Supermarkets (not guaranteed)
    • Blackout Dates: Select Dates in December and January (typically around Dec 19-Jan 1)

As mentioned above, one ticket is needed per vehicle. Have a truck? Many people meet up at the Speedway (usually the gift shop parking) and load up the truck bed. Bundle up. It’s colder than you think.

Concessions & Goodies (2022 Pricing)

You can also purchase concessions like hot chocolate and kettle corn on-site. (I would skip the hot cocoa). A portion of sales benefit the Boy Scouts of America. 100% of tips go to the troops serving that night.

  • $3.50 | Hot Chocolate
  • $3.50 | Hot Apple Cider
  • $2.00 | Bottled Water
  • $8.00 | Kettle Corn
  • $8.00 | Butter Popcorn
  • $8.00 | Reindeer Snacks
  • $2.00 | Snowflake Glasses
  • $8.00 | Light Bulb Necklace
  • $6.00 | Light Up Flower Crowns
  • $10.00 Limited Edition Ceramic Glittering Lights Ornament

Is Glittering Lights Worth It?

2022 UPDATE: Here’s a pro-tip, go before the first week of December. Way less busy, little lines, and much more enjoyable. Plus most of the ticket options are more affordable! In 2022, we went before Thanksgiving, HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

The night we attended Glittering Lights was awful. We sat waiting for 2 hours after purchasing the ticket online via Groupon and then after waiting, we paid even more, to just do the Fast Pass because we were so over it. We went on DECEMBER 22ND.

Don’t do what we did.

If you can avoid (at all costs) going the weekend or two before Christmas as well as during the week OF Christmas. Try to go on a weekday or honestly any day other than what I mentioned above.

Pros

  • You get to stay in your car
  • You get to listen to holiday music
  • The lights are super cute
  • It’s fun for kids (although I recommend sitting with them in your lap once you are in there so they can actually see).
  • Enjoy a slow drive-thru holiday light central!

Cons

  • It’s cold outside and you’ll want to roll the windows down to see the lights better.
  • The hot chocolate isn’t that good, but it does support the Boy Scouts.
  • The wait is horrible as you get closer to the main holidays, try to avoid it.
  • They do have a porta potty but it is close to the entrance and you cannot get to it waiting in the long line. Also not available at all times.

Tips For Your Family

We are still undecided if our family is going to enjoy this attraction year after year.

But it’s definitely a holiday activity we recommend adding to your list to check out at least once, annually if you LOVE holiday lights, or every other year to see all the updates.

Plus, Glittering Lights continually supports and gives back to the community through their sponsors, which is enough for us to continue supporting year after year!

Glittering Lights Review 3

If we do decide to go, here are some tips we will be implementing this year and things I recommend your family consider:

  • Bring an extra blanket or two just in case you get cold. Don’t wear a big jacket, cause you may get hot and you are stuck in a car with a bunch of other people.
  • Bring your own hot cocoa, water, coffee, snacks.
  • Be prepared to be in stop-and-go traffic while you wait to enter and once you get into the attraction.
  • Go to the bathroom BEFORE you leave.
  • Purchase tickets ahead of time and online. If you get irritable easily, buy the Fast Pass.
  • Do NOT go during their peak days/times.
  • Bring hot hands or gloves if you’re going on the Santa Tram, it’s COLD.
  • Santa Tram is great for littles who can’t see out of their car seat and who you may not want to lap sit once you’re inside

It really is a fun drive-thru experience for the family and I recommended attending!

Have you been to Glittering Lights? What did you think of it?

Leanna Carson is an expecting mama via IVF and a serial entrepreneur.

Born and raised in Las Vegas, she loves sharing all things family-friendly as well as local spots most don’t even know about! She co-founded Nevada Moms in 2018 and it has become the #1 Family Guide to Nevada experiences, activities, happenings, and more.

Connect with her on social media or IRL @mrsleannacarson on Instagram.